Wednesday, 25 March 2020

Coronavirus risk: Union demands the closure of TAFE libraries across the state

Coronavirus risk – Union demands the closure of TAFE libraries across the state (pdf version)
This morning CPSU NSW staff and delegates met with TAFENSW to discuss its contingency plans for reducing the risk of exposing staff and students to the Coronavirus. We strongly pressed the point that continued operation of the libraries places our members, staff and students at risk of contracting and transmitting COVID-19.

We remain deeply concerned at this time that TAFE has made a decision to keep libraries open.

We have written urgently to Managing Director Steffen Faurby, earlier today, seeking his clarification that TAFENSW will be following the directive of the Prime Minister to close all libraries by midnight tonight 25 March 2020 HERE

The Prime Minister last night ordered the closure of libraries Australia wide. For members’ reference see

The CPSU NSW has also made a statement in this morning’s Sydney Morning Herald article, here

There is plenty of meaningful work for library staff to continue to undertake including options for staff to work from home.

We expect the Managing Director to reply by COB today on whether he shares our concerns that keeping libraries open exposes our members and students to the aforementioned risks, and whether TAFE will comply with Federal Government directives.

Join your union!

Members – please consider forwarding this bulletin to non-member colleagues, placing it in notice boards and distributing in your workplace.

Your CPSU NSW delegates

South Region

Brad Cowie – Wollongong

Regina Kimmich – Illawarra

Chris Pickering – Illawarra

Christopher Hobbins – Albury

West Region

Leanne Riley – Parkes

Patricia Nethery – Dubbo

North Region

Gale Iseppi – Hunter

Liz Garlick – Tighes Hill

Stephen O’Brien – Newcastle

Brook Down – Coffs Harbour

Walter Upson – North

Sydney Region
Dawn Davis – Ultimo

George Bissoli – Ultimo

Simon Gray – Ultimo

Joe Harris – St Leonards

Patrick Kiss – Hornsby

Western Sydney Region

Tracey Doyle – Campbelltown

Joanna Carroll – Richmond

Glenda Pryor – Blue Mountains

Isabella Ramirra – Strathfield

TAFE Digital

Jin Cho