Friday, 13 March 2020

Union concerns with personal device usage and the MYGovID process

Device Use – March 2020 (PDF version)

Members have approached the CSPU NSW expressing concerns in relation to TAFE’s introduction of the myGovID, how this will interact with TAFE processes, and in particular the direction to staff to use their own private/personal device to initiate the myGovID.

On 26 February TAFE emailed all staff directing “authorised AUSkey users are to create the myGovID account by 2 March 2020.”

On 4 March the union wrote to TAFE IR seeking clarity on the process, including a number questions.

We emphasised the union’s initial position that TAFE staff should not be expected to provide personal devices to do their job.

TAFE has not yet responded.

We are aware that a number of members who are authorised AUSkey users do not feel comfortable creating a myGovID from their personal mobile phone and have held out on creating a MyGovID from their personal smart phones.

The CPSU NSW supports and directs those members to continue to hold out on using your personal smart phone to create a myGovID despite what TAFE management tells you.

Once TAFE has provided responses to our questions we will come back to members with further advice.

Join your union!

Members – please consider forwarding this bulletin to non-member colleagues, placing it in notice boards and distributing in your workplace.

Contact the CPSU NSW

Industrial Officer
Matthew Drake-Brockman

Shane Jobberns
Chris Bird

Your CPSU NSW delegates

South Region

Brad Cowie – Wollongong

Regina Kimmich – Illawarra

Chris Pickering – Illawarra

Christopher Hobbins – Albury

West Region

Leanne Riley – Parkes

Patricia Nethery – Dubbo

North Region

Gale Iseppi – Hunter

Liz Garlick – Tighes Hill

Stephen O’Brien – Newcastle

Brook Down – Coffs Harbour

Walter Upson – North

Sydney Region

Dawn Davis – Ultimo

George Bissoli – Ultimo

Simon Gray – Ultimo

Joe Harris – St Leonards

Patrick Kiss – Hornsby

Western Sydney Region

Tracey Doyle – Campbelltown

Joanna Carroll – Richmond

Glenda Pryor – Blue Mountains

Isabella Ramirra – Strathfield

TAFE Digital

Jin Cho