Thursday, 6 February 2020

Flex vs RDOs

Flex v RDOs – Feb 2020 (PDF version)

Are you a day worker working to the Flexible Working Hours Agreement (FWHA) or are you working on a roster where you accrue RDOs?

You should be one or the other.

The union’s position is – it is unreasonable and goes against the spirit of the idea of flexible work, for a given manager to impose standard hours (such as seven-hour days) on a workplace unit and deny workers the opportunity to accrue flexitime.

This has been happening occasionally – when it shouldn’t.

It should be, in the first instance, a conversation between you and your manager/supervisor with the aim of exploring options and reaching “mutual agreement” as to how you can work and accrue (and take) flex – taking into consideration your workload and TAFE’s operational requirements.

A union representative is also entitled to be involved in these conversations, if necessary.

If the end result is that flex cannot be accrued and standard hours prevail – then, in the alternative, please be advised that it is your right, in accordance with the TAFE Administrative, Support and Related Employees Enterprise Agreement 2019, to be classified as a rostered worker.

Clause 41.3 of the EA reads:

An employee who is rostered over a 12-week period shall be entitled to three rostered days off over the work cycle. A rostered employee may defer the taking of a rostered day off to a later date where agreed, where operational requirements permit.

So, it’s one or the other.

If you are experiencing difficulty with taking flexitime or RDOs, however you would like to – contact your union or union delegates listed below?

Join your union!

Members – please consider forwarding this bulletin to non-member colleagues, placing it in notice boards and distributing in your workplace.

Industrial Officer
Matthew Drake-Brockman

Shane Jobberns
Chris Bird

Your CPSU NSW delegates

South Region

Brad Cowie

Regina Kimmich
Chris Pickering

Christopher Hobbins

West Region

Leanne Riley

Patricia Nethery

Gale Iseppi

Tighes Hill
Liz Garlick

Stephen O’Brien

Coffs Harbour
Brook Down

Walter Upson

Sydney Region

Dawn Davis
George Bissoli
Simon Gray

St Leonards
Joe Harris

Patrick Kiss

Western Sydney Region

Tracey Doyle

Joanna Carroll

Blue Mountains
Glenda Pryor

Isabella Ramirra

TAFE Digital

Jin Cho