Thursday, 5 December 2019

CPSU NSW wins consultation

CPSU NSW Wins Consultation – Dec 2019 (PDF version)

This morning the CPSU NSW was in the Fair Work Commission before Deputy President Catanzariti.

As a result of proceedings this morning the CPSU NSW was able to reach agreement on the following:

  1. The consultation period will be extended until 13 January 2020
  2. That TAFE NSW employees who were declared excess on 2 December will now have up until Monday 13 January 2020 to accept or decline VR. Those that do accept, the last day will be 17 January 2020.
  3. Job swap process will occur during this time
  4. Any eligible long term temps offered VR will have the opportunity to apply for permanency which will be considered by 20 December 2019.

The Agreement reached can be viewed HERE.

This is a huge win for TAFE staff, especially the extension of time for consultation and the final exit date, since we were in a situation where TAFE NSW didn’t want to have more than one week’s consultation. ‘

Unfortunately, we were unable to achieve pushing back the last day for agency staff; that will still be 6 December 2019.

The CPSU NSW would like to extend its thanks to all delegates and members who stood strong and united during this difficult time. This is what being union is all about.


  1. Talk to your workmates about what is happening.
  2. Contact the CPSU NSW’s Member Support Centre on 1300 772 679 to organise a members meeting
  3. Share this Bulletin with other TAFE staff.
  4. Join the CPSU NSW HERE


Industrial Manager
Anne Kennelly

Shane Jobberns

Chris Bird

Your CPSU NSW Delegates

South Region

Brad Cowie – Wollongong

Robert Wurth – Illawarra

Regina Kimmich – Illawarra

Chris Pickering – Illawarra

Christopher Hobbins – Albury

 West Region

Leanne Riley – Parkes

Patricia Nethery – Dubbo

North Region

Gale Iseppi – Hunter

Liz Garlick – Tighes Hill

Stephen O’Brien – Newcastle

Brook Down – Coffs Harbour

Garry Smith – North

Sydney Region

Dawn Davis – Ultimo

George Bissoli – Ultimo

Simon Gray – Ultimo

Joe Harris – St Leonards

Patrick Kiss – Hornsby

Western Sydney Region

Tracey Doyle – Campbelltown

Joanna Carroll – West Sydney

Glenda Pryor – Blue Mountains

Isabella Ramirra – Strathfield

Jin Cho – TAFE Digital