Thursday, 13 February 2020

Recent wins from your union

TAFE wins – Feb 2020 (PDF version)

The CPSU NSW is pleased to have had some wins of late in having TAFE management recognise the need to recruit into vacant positions.

The union’s basic position is that leaving positions vacant is, in effect, restructuring by stealth.

The simple fact is, if a position has become vacant on the establishment then it needs to be filled as soon as practicable.

By not filling vacant positions it can have the effect of placing remaining staff under additional pressure and stress. This becomes a WHS issue – which is a union issue.

It is worth mentioning TAFE policy states that if there is no Request to Fill (RtF) form submitted for a position when it becomes vacant, TAFE People and Safety will review the need for the position and move to delete it after three months. The Union is aware of the practice of some managers not submitting an RtF form. They do not realise the long-term consequences of their inaction on RtF.

So this is where we need on-the ground information from the membership sooner than later.

We want to hear from you

So, if there is a position which is being left vacant within your work unit, particularly when this vacancy is creating unsustainable workload issues, such as, pressure and stress for you and your colleagues, then please get in contact with the union via your workplace delegate and we will have it addressed.

We can’t rely on managers to do the right thing.

Remember, it is not only unreasonable to staff that TAFE refuses to fill vacancies, it has the effect of diminishing the student experience overall.

Join your union!

Members, please consider forwarding this bulletin to non-member colleagues, placing it in notice boards and distributing in your workplace.

Your CPSU NSW delegates

South Region

Brad Cowie – Wollongong

Regina Kimmich – Illawarra

Chris Pickering – Illawarra

Christopher Hobbins – Albury

West Region

Leanne Riley – Parkes

Patricia Nethery – Dubbo

North Region

Gale Iseppi – Hunter

Liz Garlick – Tighes Hill

Stephen O’Brien – Newcastle

Brook Down – Coffs Harbour

Walter Upson – North

Sydney Region

Dawn Davis – Ultimo

George Bissoli – Ultimo

Simon Gray – Ultimo

Joe Harris – St Leonards

Patrick Kiss – Hornsby

Western Sydney Region

Tracey Doyle – Campbelltown

Joanna Carroll – Richmond

Glenda Pryor – Blue Mountains

Isabella Ramirra – Strathfield

TAFE Digital

Jin Cho