

The TAFENSW Adult Migrant Education Program (AMEP) employs a large number of staff on continuous temporary contracts. Some AMEP employees have been in the same role for between five and eight years.

TAFE claims it cannot convert these so-called temporary AMEP staff to permanent employment due to the fact that it relies on negotiating and securing federal funding for the AMEP every few years.

That claim is incorrect.

TAFE has indeed already converted a handful of temporary AMEP staff to permanent, this year. The fact is last month it decided to suddenly, without notice, withdraw and stall the processing of any further conversion applications.

This has created an inequitable situation for AMEP staff across the entire organisation.

The fact of the matter is TAFE has continuously been successful in attaining the AMEP contract from the federal government. The current contract is up until at least 2022.

Where does this leave the several dozen AMEP staff who have worked in their roles for five, six, seven or more years who have applications for conversion?

TAFENSW's answer: they're temporary employees.

This arrangement is unacceptable to the union and as such we have initiated an industrial dispute in accordance with the dispute resolution clause in the 2019 Enterprise Agreement (EA).

The dispute outlines TAFE's refusal to convert AMEP temporary staff to permanent employment per Clause 17 of the EA. Specifically, we are challenging TAFENSW's interpretation of the meaning of the phrase "ongoing work" per EA Clause 17.3.4 as it relates to AMEP staff.

Next steps

The parties need to meet this week (prior to Thursday) in an attempt to resolve the dispute.

The CPSU NSW believes that if the matter needs to be escalated to the Fair Work Commission, then a Commissioner will accept the union's plain and ordinary meaning of the phrase "ongoing work" in our favour.

We will keep members updated.

Not a member of the CPSU NSW?

Join the union HERE.

Join the Rebuild Our TAFE campaign **HERE**.











Contact the CPSU NSW

Industrial Officer

Matthew Drake-Brockman mdrake-brockman@psa.asn.au

Organiser

Shane Jobberns sjobberns@psa.asn.au

Your CPSU NSW delegates

South Region

Illawarra

Regina Kimmich <u>regina.kimmich@tafensw.edu.au</u>
Brad Cowie <u>brad.cowie1@tafensw.edu.au</u>
Karline Lindsell <u>karline.lindsell@tafensw.edu.au</u>

Albury

Nicholas Wright nicholas.wright61@tafensw.edu.au

Wagga Wagga

Dave Prowse david.prowse1@tafensw.edu.au

West Region

Parkes

Leanne Riley Leanne. Riley 2@tafensw.edu.au

Dubbo

Suzie McMartin <u>suzanne.mcmartin1@tafensw.edu.au</u>

North Region

Central Coast

Gale Iseppi@tafensw.edu.au

Newcastle

Helen Crooks helen.crooks@tafensw.edu.au

Tighes Hill

Liz Garlick liz.garlick1@tafensw.edu.au











Hamilton

Stephen O'Brien stephen.obrien@tafensw.edu.au

Cessnock

Walter Upson walter.upson1@tafensw.edu.au

Coffs Harbour

Brook Down brook.down1@tafensw.edu.au

Port Macquarie

Marc Fearby marc.fearby@tafensw.edu.au

Wollongbar

Paul Dennis paul.dennis6@tafensw.edu.au

Sydney Region

Ultimo

Simon Gray simon.gray@tafensw.edu.au
Jeff Bar-David Jeffrey.Barr-David2@tafensw.edu.au
Janaka Biyanwila sumithra.biyanwila@tafensw.edu.au
Frank Dunn frank.dunn@tafensw.edu.au

St Leonards

Joe Harris joe.harris@tafensw.edu.au

Hornsby

Patrick Kiss patrick.l.kiss@tafensw.edu.au

Western Sydney Region

Campbelltown

Tracey Doyle tracey.doyle@tafensw.edu.au
Thomas Bank Tom.Bank@tafensw.edu.au

Richmond

Dannii Sabharwal bhavna.sabharwal@tafensw.edu.au

Blue Mountains

Glenda Pryor glenda.pryor@tafensw.edu.au











Strathfield
Isabella Ramirra <u>isabella.ramirra1@tafensw.edu.au</u>

TAFE Digital

Strathfield
Scott O'Brien scott.obrien26@tafensw.edu.au

CPSU NSW - Stronger Together!





