

Ongoing success with conversion to permanency for union members

Members may recall that in June 2019 the CPSU NSW lodged a dispute against TAFENSW in the Fair Work Commission for its failure to act on temporary and long-term casual conversion applications we had submitted in line with Clause 17 of the *TAFE Commission of NSW Enterprise Agreement 2019*.

As a result of this Fair Work dispute, TAFENSW was compelled convert several dozen temporary and casual members to permanent employment at the time.

All workers benefit from security of employment. This basic right is especially important in these uncertain economic times.

Strong union membership critical

Since August last year your union representatives have met with TAFE Industrial Relations staff on a regular basis and have made more than 350 members permanent.

This wouldn't have happened without an active and engaged membership.

We have had numerous reports that non-members are being stonewalled by management with their applications for conversion. A not insignificant number of staff have joined the union because of this.

Our appeal to the membership

If you have any non-member colleagues who may have in fact been converted to permanency, we ask that you please remind them that it was the strength of union who was collectively able to negotiate the inclusion Clause 17 in our Enterprise Agreement, which they benefitted from at no financial cost to themselves. They should seriously consider joining the movement.

Further, we encourage all employees to become members because in essence it is the union who fights for the annual pay rises which are carried onto all employees – this isn't automatic despite what many believe.

Without a strong membership the employer would emboldened to withhold or otherwise resist the annual pay rise. This does of course happen in less unionised sectors.

Non-members who are presently being stonewalled by management over conversion applications are welcome to join, too.

We can help.

Not a member of the CPSU? Join the union <u>HERE</u>.











Ongoing success with conversion to permanency for union members

Contact the CPSU NSW

Industrial Officer

Matthew Drake-Brockman mdrake-brockman@psa.asn.au

Organiser

Shane Jobberns sjobberns@psa.asn.au

Your CPSU NSW delegates

South Region

Wollongong

Brad Cowie brad.cowie1@tafensw.edu.au

Illawarra

Regina Kimmich <u>regina.kimmich@tafensw.edu.au</u>
Chris Pickering <u>Christopher.Pickering@tafensw.edu.au</u>

Albury

Nicholas Wright nicholas.wright61@tafensw.edu.au

West Region

Parkes

Leanne Riley Leanne.Riley2@tafensw.edu.au

Dubbo

Patricia Nethery Patricia.Nethery@tafensw.edu.au

North Region

Hunter

Gale Iseppi@tafensw.edu.au

Tighes Hill

Liz Garlick liz.garlick1@tafensw.edu.au

Newcastle

Stephen O'Brien stephen.obrien@tafensw.edu.au

Coffs Harbour

Brook Down brook.down1@tafensw.edu.au









Ongoing success with conversion to permanency for union members

North

Walter Upson walter.upson1@tafensw.edu.au

Sydney Region

Ultimo

Simon Gray simon.gray@tafensw.edu.au
Dawn Davis Dawn.Davis@tafensw.edu.au
George Bissoli George.Bissoli@tafensw.edu.au

St Leonards

Joe Harris joe.harris@tafensw.edu.au

Hornsby

Patrick Kiss patrick.l.kiss@tafensw.edu.au

Western Sydney Region

Campbelltown

Tracey Doyle tracey.doyle@tafensw.edu.au

Richmond

Joanna Carroll <u>Joanna.Carroll@tafensw.edu.au</u>

Blue Mountains

Glenda Pryor glenda.pryor@tafensw.edu.au

Strathfield

Isabella Ramirra isabella.ramirra1@tafensw.edu.au

TAFE Digital

Jin Cho Jin.Cho3@tafensw.edu.au





