



Rightful access to Flex: are you being denied?

CPSU NSW head office has dealt with a handful of cases across TAFE in recent times, where staff have not been given proper access to flexible working hours.

We also have heard second-hand that there are other unresolved matters in relation to managers making it difficult to access flexible work. These will need to be dealt with, too.

Typically, the reasons given by middle management for denying proper access to flexible working hours (including the **rightful ability to accrue hours** as well as **being able to take flex days**) is due to 'operational reasons'.

Operational reasons is often just a way for TAFE to understaff and under-resource the organisation – with the end result being overworked staff missing out of their entitlement to flex.

The CPSU NSW does not accept this in any way.

CPSU NSW believes some managers are applying arbitrary rules or so-called 'house rules' to deny staff equitable access to flexible working hours. There is no such thing as house rules. The only instrument which governs your flexible work the Flexible Working Hours Agreement 2016 found <u>HERE</u>.

If you feel you are not being given equitable access to flexible working hours – we suggest:

Firstly, try to resolve the issue locally with your line manager.

Secondly, if that fails contact your workplace delegate for assistance

Finally, if needed your workplace delegate will escalate to the CSPU NSW/PSA head office.

Your CPSU NSW Delegates

South Region

Brad Cowie – Wollongong brad.cowie1@tafensw.edu.au

Robert Wurth – Illawarra robert.wurth@tafensw.edu.au

Regina Kimmich – Illawarra regina.kimmich@tafensw.edu.au

Chris Pickering – Illawarra Christopher.Pickering@tafensw.edu.au

Christopher Hobbins – Albury christopher.hobbins@tafensw.edu.au

West Region

Leanne Riley – Parkes Leanne.Riley2@tafensw.edu.au

Patricia Nethery – Dubbo Patricia.Nethery@tafensw.edu.au

North Region

Gale Iseppi – Hunter Gale.Iseppi@tafensw.edu.au

Liz Garlick – Tighes Hill liz.garlick1@tafensw.edu.au

Stephen O'Brien – Newcastle stephen.obrien@tafensw.edu.au

Brook Down – Coffs Harbour brook.down1@tafensw.edu.au

Garry Smith – North Garry.Smith@tafensw.edu.au

Sydney Region

Dawn Davis – Ultimo Dawn.Davis@tafensw.edu.au

George Bissoli – Ultimo George.Bissoli@tafensw.edu.au

Simon Gray – Ultimo simon.gray@tafensw.edu.au

Joe Harris – St Leonards joe.harris@tafensw.edu.au

Patrick Kiss – Hornsby patrick.l.kiss@tafensw.edu.au

Western Sydney Region

Tracey Doyle – Campbelltown TRACEY.DOYLE@tafensw.edu.au

Joanna Carroll – West Sydney Joanna.Carroll@tafensw.edu.au

Glenda Pryor – Blue Mountains <u>glenda.pryor@tafensw.edu.au</u>

Isabella Ramirra – Strathfield isabella.ramirra1@tafensw.edu.au

Jin Cho – TAFE Digital Jin.Cho3@tafensw.edu.au



AUTHORISED BY STEWART LITTLE, STATE BRANCH SECRETARY, COMMUNITY AND PUBLIC SECTOR UNION (SPSF GROUP) NSW BRANCH